Shapeshifting: Joe Satriani – Album Review

A brilliant, original, creative and extremely versatile album. The name Shapeshifting was a great choice and reflects the variety of styles used in this album.

01. Shapeshifting
02. Big Distortion
03. All For Love
04. Ali Farka, Dick Dale, an Alien and Me
05. Teardrops
06. Perfect Dust
07. Nineteen Eighty
08. All My Friends Are Here
09. Spirits, Ghosts and Outlaws
10. Falling Stars
11. Waiting
12. Here The Blue River
13. Yesterday’s Yesterday

That is the song list. 13 songs of genius creativity. A man with a track record spanning from the eighties to the present day. The underlined tracks Big Distortion & Ninety Eighty were released early and the video for Ninety Eighty is excellent. There does not seem to be a limit with where Joe can go, and I mean no limit.

The downside is that Ninety Eighty is by far my favourite song and not long enough! The songs are actually quite sharp and fit in enough music taste to please even the most die hard fans. There are traces of surfing with the alien and a few others albums. But it is an original album, full stop.

I recommend it to new and old fans. What Happens Next released 2018, and I honestly thought that was brilliant, but Joe has done it again.

My rating: 9/10

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s